According to the U.S. Department of Labor, the minimum wage rates in “Alaska, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nebraska, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont,” West Virginia, Colorado and South Dakota will increase effective January 1, 2016.  Workers in Maryland, the District of Columbia and Minnesota will also see minimum wage increases later this summer.  According to the Department, “[a]s of January 1, 29 states and D.C. have minimum wages above the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.”    Read the Department’s full article and related posts here.